CHE University Ranking

News Archive

Seal of approval


News vom 22.11.2016

Professor Dr. Volker Linneweber, President of Saarland University, is “University Manager of the Year 2016”

Professor Dr. Volker Linneweber, President of Saarland University, is “University Manager of the Year 2016”. The award, presented by the weekly newspaper DIE ZEIT and the CHE Centre for Higher Education, aims to pay tribute to managers of German higher education institutions (HEIs) who have shaped the development of their organisation with outstanding leadership and initiated innovative change processes. The award ceremony will take place during the ZEIT conference entitled “Hochschule & Bildung. Die vermessene Hochschule” in Berlin on 22 November 2016.

“In our preselection to identify the University Manager of the Year, we started out by identifying HEIs that had an outstanding development dynamic over the past years; although it encountered difficult financial conditions, Saarland University was one of the top achievers in this area,“ noted Professor Dr. Frank Ziegele, Executive Director of the CHE Centre for Higher Education, and a member of the jury. “This is largely due to Volker Linneweber.”

“In times of financial restraint, Volker Linneweber not only managed to represent the interests of his university consistently to the outside world, he also initiated a gradual reorientation towards coping productively with budget cuts within the university, ensuring its capacity to keep acting according to the institutional aims. In this way, he ensured that the university and the President’s Cabinet remained capable of acting strategically. He steadly initiated further development by consensus within the university members,“ praised the jury.

Ehrung des Hochschulmanager des Jahres 2016 (v.L) Prof. Dr. Frank Ziegele, Geschäftsführer des CHE, Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel, Präsidentin des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) und Laudatorin, Prof. Dr. Volker Linneweber, Präsident der Universität des Saarlandes und Hochschulmanager des Jahres 2016, Marion Schmidt, Leiterin Hochschulentwicklung und strategische Kommunikation, COGNOS AG, Manuel J. Hartung, Ressortleiter CHANCEN - DIE ZEIT (Foto: Phil Dera für die ZEIT)

In the preselection, the change processes achieved at the HEIs were initially considered in the search for the University Manager of the Year. These change processes were identified on the basis of data provided by organisations such as the German Academic Exchange Service, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and the CHE University Ranking. As a result, Linneweber and 31 other managers of strongly developing HEIs were questioned about their leadership philosophy and the measures they have taken to achieve these results. In an additional survey to shed light on the findings gained from a different perspective, the vice rectors, vice presidents and chairs of university councils were asked about the leadership performance of their university management. This way six outstanding leaders were nominated for the award.

The award-winner was selected by a jury of eight:
Dr. Barbara Haering (Research Manager and Consultant from Switzerland), Manuel Hartung (Head of ZEIT Chancen), Professor Dr. Joachim Metzner (former President of TH Köln – University of Applied Sciences), Professor Dr. Wilfried Müller (former President of the University of Bremen and University Manager of the Year 2012), Professor Dr. Ada Pellert (Rector of FernUniversität in Hagen – University of Hagen), Professor Dr. Ulrich Radtke (Rector of Universität Duisburg-Essen and University Manager of the Year 2015), Marion Schmidt (Head of University Development and Strategic Communication, COGNOS AG, and initiator of the award) and Professor Dr. Frank Ziegele (Executive Director of the CHE Centre for Higher Education and Professor of Higher Education and Research Management).

The following individuals were also nominated for the University Manager of the Year 2016 award:
Professor Dr. Michael Braun, President of the Technische Hochschule Nürnberg Georg Simon Ohm,
Professor Dr. Brigitte Grass, President of Düsseldorf University of Applied Sciences,
Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Ulrich Rüdiger, Rector of the University of Konstanz,
Professor Dr. Wilhelm-Günther Vahrson, President of Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development (HNEE),
Professor Dr. Hans-Hennig von Grünberg, President of the Hochschule Niederrhein.

[Foto von Volker Linneweber im Blickpunkt: bellhäuser - das bilderwerk]

Printable version

Britta Hoffmann-Kobert
Britta Hoffmann-Kobertmehr
Phone: +49 5241 9761-27
Fax: +49 5241 9761-40
Email: britta.hoffmann-kobert

© CHE Centre for Higher Education 2018Sitemap   Data protection policy   Legal Notice