CHE University Ranking

News Archive

Seal of approval


News vom 27.10.2014

Who will be named university manager of the year for 2014? Short portraits of the nomenees

The CHE Centre for Higher Education and the DIE ZEIT newspaper have been looking for
outstanding university managers who have shaped the development of their HEI and
initiated innovative change processes. Seven nominees have been shortlisted.

This year's selection process paid special attention to managerial efforts to open up
universities to non-traditional students and how the resulting heterogeneity of the
student body was handled. A total of 36 university managers who were seen to be
particularly effective in terms of spearheading development (when compared to their
peers across Germany) were identified and chosen for the final round using an
indicator-based pre-selection process based on data from the German Academic
Exchange Service, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and the CHE University
Ranking. A jury of renowned experts then drew up a shortlist of seven particularly
outstanding candidates. The final university manager of the year for 2014 will be
announced at the DIE ZEIT conference "University and Education" conference on 18
November 2014.  The following candidates are on the shortlist:
Prof. Dr. Marcus Baumann (Fachhochschule Aachen),
Prof. Dr. Holger Burckhart (Universität Siegen),
Prof. Dr. Sabine Doering-Manteuffel (Universität Augsburg),  
Prof. Dr. Michael Kortstock (HAW München),
Prof. Dr-Ing. DEng/Auckland Dr. h.c. /Brno Hans Müller-Steinhagen (TU Dresden),
Prof. Dr. Merith Niehuss (Universität der Bundeswehr München),
Prof. Dr. Sascha Spoun (Leuphana Universität Lüneburg).


Printable version

Frank Ziegele
Frank Ziegelemehr
Phone: +49 5241 9761-24
Fax: +49 5241 9761-40
Alexandra Tegethoffmehr
Phone: +49 5241 9761-22

© CHE Centre for Higher Education 2018Sitemap   Data protection policy   Legal Notice