CHE University Ranking

News Archive

Seal of approval


News vom 13.11.2009

The Financial Times Deutschland presents the nominees for this year’s Higher Education Manager of the Year award

The Financial Times Deutschland today presents the six finalists for the Higher Education Manager of the Year award.

It is the second time that the FTD and the CHE together have nominated vice-chancellors and presidents of German higher education institutions that have pushed through internal university reform while externally taking up a strong position in the higher education market, thereby allowing them to win outstanding students and professors, third-party funding and co-operations. The winner will be elected during the FTD’s Higher Education Management Conference to be held in Bertelsmann’s Berlin office on 8 December.

Nominated for the award are Prof. Dr. Karl-Dieter Grüske, vice-chancellor of Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang A. Herrmann, president of Technische Universität München, Prof. Dr. Joachim Metzner, president of Fachhochschule Köln, Prof. Dr. Wilfried Müller, vice-chancellor of Universität Bremen, Prof. Dr. Micha Teuscher, vice-chancellor of Hochschule Neubrandenburg, and Prof. Dr. Dieter Timmermann, retired vice-chancellor of Universität Bielefeld. A multi-level procedure in the run-up to the nomination identified those higher education institutions that showed verifiable improvements in their performance in the fields of internationalisation, excellence initiative, adoption of bachelor’s and master’s systems as well as regards the CHE higher education ranking since 2006, and whose vice-chancellors and presidents have been in office since 2006. The winner will be chosen by a first-class, international jury and partly on the basis of success in the fields of strategic management, financing, organisation and management, quality management, human resources management as well as internationalisation.

The jury consists of last year’s winner Prof. Dr. Dieter Lenzen, president of Freie Universität Berlin, as well as Prof. Dr. Ada Pellert, president of Deutsche Universität für Weiterbildung, Berlin, Prof. Dr. Marion Schick, member of the board of the Fraunhofer Society and former president of Fachhochschule München, Marion Schmidt, editor for education at G+J business media, Prof. Dr. Gerhard Schmitt, vice-president ETH Zürich, and Prof. Dr. Frank Ziegele, CEO of the CHE and professor for higher education and research management at Fachhochschule Osnabrück.

Printable version

Britta Hoffmann-Kobert
Britta Hoffmann-Kobertmehr
Phone: +49 5241 9761-27
Fax: +49 5241 9761-40
Email: britta.hoffmann-kobert

© CHE Centre for Higher Education 2018Sitemap   Data protection policy   Legal Notice